30 Day Challenge: Day 2

2. Your 5 least favourite books of all time.

Now this is an interesting topic and almost as hard to answer as yesterday’s…

Emma1. Emma, Jane Austen. I know, I know I’ve mentioned my dislike for Austen and her boring, one-dimensional characters and her empty plot lines once or twice already on this blog. You’re probably as fed up of reading about it as I am of saying it. But hey, over 350 pages and nothing happens?! Why???

Perfume2. Perfume: The Story of a Murderer, Patrick Suskind. I watched the film and that was…weird. Then I read the book and that took weird to a whole new level.

The Unconsoled3. The Unconsoled, Kazuo Ishiguro. An interesting premise poorly executed with an apathetic main character and a revelation that never comes? I was inconsolable after reading this.

The Land of Painted Caves4. The Land of Painted Caves, Jean M. Auel. Yesterday I cited The Clan of the Cave Bear as one of my all time favourites and that’s true. But this book at the other end of the series is also at the other end of the spectrum as far as my love is concerned. The level of description I praised yesterday is taken to such an extreme that we must endure almost 700 pages describing, in infinitesimal detail, cave paintings and the shock people experience when they learn of Ayla’s heritage. Published 21 years after Cave Bear, Ayla’s followers were almost universally disappointed; I hated the book so much that I sent it to the charity shop leaving my collection incomplete.

Bleak House5. Bleak House, Charles Dickens. I don’t know if I hate the whole book because I only made it half way so I feel a bit mean putting it on this list but I can’t forget that the first three pages were dedicated to telling us how foggy it was in London. Nor can I forget the section that finally convinced me to abandon my effort in which several pages were taken up detailing the different people/animals looking at rain. I know we Brits are supposed to love talking about the weather but this was something else.

Hmm, maybe that wasn’t so hard after all clearly I know what I don’t like when it comes to reading material!

One response to “30 Day Challenge: Day 2

  1. I agree so hard with Emma. That was a tough one to get through.

Leave a Reply

