30 Day Challenge: Day 5

5. If you were stranded on a desert island, what five books would you take with you? Include one reason for each.

Oh boy, this is the one I’ve been dreading. I hate these kinds of questions. Can’t you just assume I’d take my favourite books and pass the time happily in a little literary cocoon?

No? Fine, I’ll have to try and come up with something original and witty then shall I?

If you insist.

Rainbow Journals1. A notebook. Being stranded on a desert island I’m sure there’s be all sorts of noteworthy hings to write down. Like the best way to cook a coconut/make a raft out of driftwood/wrestle a turtle/something like that. And of course I’d need some thorough notes to be able to sell my story when I got home.

Man vs Wild2. Man vs Wild, Bear Grylls. Surely there’d be something in there to help me survive my isolation.

The Count of Monte Cristo3. The Count of Monte Cristo, Alexandre Dumas. It’s been sitting on my bookshelf staring reproachfully at me since Christmas but it’s just so big that I’m not sure my shoulder can handle carrying it around. Sitting still on a desert island would probably be the perfect place to read it.

Roald Dahl4. OK so maybe it’s cheating but this collection of Roald Dahl’s books for children would be able to bring a smile to my face and comfort me in my time of need.

 

Lord of the Flies5. Lord of the Flies, William Golding. So that in my down moments I could have a read of this and remind myself that however bad things might be, at least I’m not sharing my island with a planeful of pre-pubescent boys.

Next we bring things bang up to date with my favourite book from the last year.

2 responses to “30 Day Challenge: Day 5

  1. My choices change pretty much every day. I think The Count of Monte Cristo is a good choice. I seem to remember it being a bit complicated in places (with different people and places), so it might be that you can read it twice and not be bored! I think the collection of Roald Dahl is a bit of a cheat, but I’ll let you off! I’d want them too!

    • I have been meaning to get around to it since Christmas but it’s so thick that it’s quite intimidating :s
      I know the collection is a huge cheat but if I’m getting stranded on a desert island I’m going to need a lot of reading material!

Leave a Reply

