30 Day Challenge: Day 6

6. The best book you’ve read in the last year.

Hmm now this can be answered in two ways – the last calendar year (2013) or the last 12 months. I’m going to be Gregorian about it and stick to books I’ve read in 2013, partially because I’m not sure if I can remember what I’ve read in the past 12 months in order to pick something. And so the winner is:

The Man...The Hundred-year-old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared, Jonas Jonasson.

I’ve already written a detailed review of the story which you can find here so I’ll keep this brief.

The story features as its hero Allen Karlsson, a centenarian who decides that there’s more than enough life left in him for a little adventure and sets off to find one.

Find one he does by virtue of stealing a suitcase full of money from a passing criminal and subsequently going on the run with a motley assortment of other  slightly dubious characters.

Allen is just so loveable a character with such a wonderful view of the world that it is a pleasure to be drawn into his world and uncover his fascinating history. And not only that but Jonasson is also able to provide a whirlwind tour of world history over the last 100 years because, believe it or not, Allen played a major part in almost everything you heard about in your history classes.

It’s a charming story and I’m already looking forward to reading it again.

Tomorrow, a less cheerful post on the subject of the worst book I’ve read this year…

2 responses to “30 Day Challenge: Day 6

  1. I’ve been recommended this book by a couple of people now. It’s not an easy one to forget with a name like that, so think it’ll have to go on my wish list now!

    • I really liked it and it’s rare that I enjoy a funny book so from me that’s a big compliment. Also Allen’s just so chilled out that I think I need to try and model myself on him a bit!

Leave a Reply

