30 Day Challenge: Day 9

9. Your favourite quotes about books.

As with yesterday’s topic I’m not thrilled that I have to put together another list of quotes; however this one is possibly slightly easier as I don’t have to search through whole volumes for “that quote that I’m sure is in there somewhere…”

  • Always read something that will make you look good if you die in the middle of it. P.J. O’Rourke

I like this quote because it also sums up my attitude towards reading in public. I love it when I’m reading a serious book and I imagine that people will look at me and be impressed by my literary taste. Reading The Princess Diaries on the tube was a humiliating experience.

  • If one cannot enjoy a book over and over again, there is no use in reading it at all. Oscar Wilde

Man did that guy know what he was talking about?! I don’t think I need to add anything to that quote, it says it all.

  • No book is worth reading at the age of ten which is not equally – and often far more – worth reading at the age of fifty and beyond. C.S. Lewis

Again, hit the nail on the head really. I love rereading children’s books now (and I’m only halfway to fifty); partly because there are so many layers that you miss when you’re a child, and partly because there’s a magic in children’s stories which is often missing from adult books because we’re ‘grown-ups’ now. Take JK Rowling’s latest offering as a perfect example.

  • A great book should leave you with many experiences and slightly exhausted at the end. You live many lives while reading. William Styron

I love that feeling when you turn the final page of a book and you do feel exhausted. I usually have to sit there for a while with the closed book in front of me to get my thoughts back together so that I can continue functioning in my real life. Definitely the sign of a great book.

And in the same theme:

  • You know you’ve read a good book when you turn the last page and feel a little as if you’ve lost a friend. Paul Sweeney

After a really good book , if you’ve been really involved in a character’s life, it can feel a little like being in mourning as you know you’re not going to see anything more of them again. The upside of course is that you know they’ll be there waiting for you to go back to them. And unlike real people they won’t change while they’re waiting!

Tomorrow we get onto film adaptations so no more of this picking quotes business (although actually I quite enjoyed this one!).

Leave a Reply

