30 Day Challenge: Day 14

An early post today because I’m off doing things all day.

14. A book you regret not having read sooner.

This is easy-peasy-lemon-squeezy!

CarrieCarrie (Stephen King).

I admit it, I’m a wimp. I’d heard for a long time what an incredible author Stephen King is. I knew his books were loved by millions of people all over the world but I’d never read any. And why? Because I thought they would be too scary.

I have history in this area, I still haven’t finished reading The Witches by Roald Dahl because it scared me too much as a child and I had a similar experience with Carrie’s War by Nina Bawden so I stayed as far away from King as I could.

But eventually curiosity got the better of me and having heard the story of Carrie I decided I would brave it and found myself a copy. I was relieved to see that it’s quite a short book so if it was scary, at least it wouldn’t worry me for too long.

Having let it sit on my bookshelf, a little brooding, threatening presence, for sometime I finally found the courage (outside on a bright sunny day, just in case) to pick it up and start reading and boy, was I surprised!

I didn’t really expect to enjoy it, to feel for the characters, to really care where the story was going but I did. Carrie herself is so sympathetic, my heart ached for her and I felt like I was sharing her pain as the horror to come was slowly revealed. I wasn’t scared, I was just sad.

Having originally been pleased about the low page count I ended up worrying about it as there didn’t seem nearly enough page for everything that had to happen but in the end it was probably just about right, it’s a short story but one that kept me gripped to the very end.

But it’s not just because I loved Carrie that I wish I’d read it sooner but because since then I’ve been reading more and more of King’s books and I’ve loved them all. So I’m thrilled that I’ve finally thrown off my fears but I wish I’d done it sooner because now I know what brilliant stories I’d been missing out on!

One response to “30 Day Challenge: Day 14

  1. Pingback: 30 Day Book Challenge – Day 14 | Me, Bookshelf and I

Leave a Reply

