30 Day Challenge: Day 20

20. The environment you most enjoy reading in.

Well this is easy. Look at the title of this blog.

Now look back at the question.

This post kinda writes itself huh?

London Underground!

Yeah, I love the tube! I love that while reading I can catch up on the gossip of complete strangers, make up my own stories about those around me and get lots of ideas for what to read next by looking over the shoulder of the person next to me.

I know that might sound like sarcasm but it’s not, I actually do love all those things. And there’s no internet or mobile signal to distract me and lure me into a conversation or making random discoveries on Wikipedia or the 101 other ways I find to waste time at any other point in the day.

Sure, reading at home on my comfy bed is lovely but I always feel like there’s something else I could be doing – the washing up or hoovering or (heaven forbid) making a start on my thesis – whereas below ground I’m incapable of doing any of those things so why worry?!

It may get hot and sticky and smelly and you may have to fight with the newspaper on the next seat for elbow room and people may be ignorant of how annoying the tinny music from their headphones is and there may be something about delays that cause people to turn into insensitive b*stards but hey, I really love it down there and it’s improved my library no end!

love-london-underground-sign

One response to “30 Day Challenge: Day 20

  1. Pingback: 30 Day Book Challenge – Day 20 | Me, Bookshelf and I

Leave a Reply

