30 Day Challenge: Day 21

An early post today because I’m off out for the day with my mummy who’s visiting for the weekend ūüôā

21. The most disturbing book you’ve ever read.

Disturbing? Hmmm…. I don’t really read gory books or creepy books or real life drama books so it’s hard to choose one.

Love in the Time of CholeraLove in the Time of Cholera was somewhat disturbing in terms of the fat that no one seemed to bat an eyelid at Florentino Ariza’s affairs with prostitutes, elderly widows or the teenage niece of whom he is the guardian. Not to mention there is a somewhat blas√©¬†attitude towards rape. But it was told in such an offhand way that although I was outraged, it didn’t really disturb me.

Chinese CinderellaI think the book I’d really¬†give this title to is¬†Chinese Cinderella by Adeline Yen Mah. This is the autobiography of a Chinese girl whose mother died while giving birth to her and as such was spurned by her family. The horrible taunts and tricks her family subjected her to were truly horrifying. I realise that there are more disturbing stories out there but I make a point of not reading them, I see it as a kind of voyeurism that sits rather uncomfortably with me. I¬†first read this book when I was a teenager and “true life stories” were a rarer thing so perhaps I was more na√Įve but the fact that a family could do such things to their own child horrified me.

It’s a powerful story and is further in¬†Falling Leaves,¬†Adeline Yen Mah’s full life story, disturbing yet not totally bereft of happiness and hope so probably not entirely disturbing but as bad as I ever want to read.

3 responses to “30 Day Challenge: Day 21

  1. I loved Chinese Cinderella! I thought it was a bit inspiring how she managed to succeed in the face of such adversity! I don’t know anyone else who’s read it!

    • I loved it too but I still found it farily diusturbing! You;’re right though it was incredibly inspirational and it did make the poor hard-done-by teenage me a lot more grateful for everything I had. Have you read Falling Leaves? It tells the rest of her story which is just as interesting.

Leave a Reply

