30 Day Challenge: Day 28

28. The first book you can remember reading on your own.

Ah. Ummmm. Gosh. Now you’re really asking.

I’ve been reading for as long as I can remember. I’m sure there was a time when I couldn’t read but I couldn’t really tell you when that changed and even when I couldn’t my parents read to me so much that there were probably books I could recite off by heart as if I was reading them.

One, Two, Three and Away!I know that I learnt to read from the 1, 2, 3 and Away! books which, for anyone unlucky enough to never have read them, were set in the Village with 3 corners and featured a cast of characters all named after their hats. There was Roger Red-Hat, Johnny and Jennifer Yellow-Hat and Billy Blue-Hat (and Percy Green, I don’t know what happened to his hat).

Oxford Reading Tree charactersSo it was probably one of these, or maybe the slightly more advanced Oxford Reading Tree series starring Biff, Chip , Kipper, Floppy the dog and their magic key that I first read by myself.

But what did I first read for pleasure? Alone and to myself? I have no idea. In fact I also asked my mum what it might have been and she didn’t know either proving how prolific a reader I was even then.

So some childhood reading memories:

  • Trying to work my way through The Chronicles of Narnia but getting fed-up halfway through
  • The two books mentioned in this post
  • The trio of The BFG, George’s Marvellous Medicine and Matilda being the thickest book I owned
  • Being scared out of my wits by The Witches and then by Carrie’s War
  • Crying my eyes out at Charlotte’s Web
  • An obsession with The Babysitter’s Club and Animal Ark
  • Reading anything with a horse in it – Black Beauty, Follyfoot Farm, War Horse, The Saddle Club, Misty to name but a few
  • Squatting on the tiny chairs at the children’s book section when I was far too old to be there to read masterpieces such as: Pass the Jam Jim, The Giant Jam Sandwich, Hairy McClary, Funnybones and Each, Peach, Pear, Plum
  • Completing my library’s reading challenge of four tiers the year before I was eligible to participate (what age this was we can’t remember but I did get my picture in the paper and I was definitely younger than 11 because I was still at primary school)
All my childhood favourites! (Many thanks to the Internet in general for providing these pictures)

All my childhood favourites! (Many thanks to the Internet in general for providing these pictures)

7 responses to “30 Day Challenge: Day 28

  1. My first author (that I can remember) was Enid Blyton. Did you read Blyton?

  2. Pingback: 30 day book challenge: Day 4. | Xarglebook

  3. Wow, all those children’s books really bring back memories! I loved ‘The Giant Jam Sandwich’. And my 6 month old son already has ‘Hairy Maclary’ and ‘Each Peach Pear Plum’ read to him on a near daily basis (although ‘The Gruffalo’, ‘Stickman’ and ‘Oh The Places You Go’ are actually his favourites). 🙂

    • They do, I loved writing that post and remembering all my old favourites! I realised I can still recite almost all of Each Peach Pear Plum but I’m not so good on the others. They all still get mentioned every so often at home even though my brother and I are both in our 20s! I bet you’re having lots of fun getting to read them all again 🙂

  4. Pingback: 30 day book challenge: Day 5! | Xarglebook

  5. Pingback: Books on the Tube

Leave a Reply

