Daughter Am I, Pat Bertram

I bought this book after reading an excerpt from the book on Pat Bertram’s blog. It seemed like an interesting take on the crime genre so I thought I’d give it a go.

Daughter Am I is about Mary, a woman who discovers that the grandparents she thought died before she was born weren’t dead at all but have recently been murdered by person or persons unknown. Having become sole heir to her grandparents’ estate Mary decides she want to know more about who they were, who killed them and why her parents have been lying to her for so long.

Along the way she discovers more than she bargained for when she finds out that the farm she has just inherited was actually a hide-out for gangsters when they needed somewhere to lie low and that her grandparents weren’t always on the right side of the law. In the process of making these discoveries Mary gathers a motley assortment of aging gangsters many of whom are still operating with little regard for the rules.

I struggled a little at the start to see how I was going to care about the characters and the plotline but once I got into it I came to love many of the ‘elders’ as Mary calls them, especially Crunchy and Kid Rags (it took me a while to get used to using such strange names but eventually I came to quite like them). I didn’t warm to Mary to the same extent but I often find that with the main character, I always prefer the bit parts!

The plot moves along at quite a lick and changes along the way so that we go from just trying to learn more about Mary’s grandparents to finding out who killed them to hunting for treasure but it all comes together in the end for a final, dramatic showdown.

It’s a well told story with a host of well developed characters who all go on their own journey throughout the book and all in all an enjoyable read.

One response to “Daughter Am I, Pat Bertram

  1. Pingback: 2013 storified. | Books on the Tube

Leave a Reply

