A Monday Morning Dilemma

Yesterday I finished reading a very good book: Rivers of London by Ben Aaronovitch. It was the first in a series which I was unsure whether I’d enjoy. but it turns out I did enjoy it, it’s a supernatural detective series which is funny, a bit different and features some great characters. As well as being set in London so I know lots of the locations. My dilemma now is: do I buy the rest of the series knowing that there’s a chance that I will get impatient with them if they turn out too samey?

The reason that this is such an immediate issue is that I know all three of the remaining books are available cheaply from a secondhand shop I could go to after work so I could get them all now or wait and possibly end up paying more.

To complicate matters I started a new book this morning which I thought I’d like but so far I am not getting on with at all.

What to do, what to do?!

13 responses to “A Monday Morning Dilemma

  1. Buy them! I always think finding books you happen to be looking for is a sign. I mean, it’s almost like they were meant for you. πŸ˜‰ I’ve always had a weird thing about not reading series books in a row, similarly to you I worry that they will be too same-ey and it will make the next books lose their impact. Consequently I have so many unfinished series I’m now trying to complete so I’m trying to change my ways a bit.
    You can always buy them and read another book or two in between can’t you? πŸ™‚

    • I like that, I love to think of things as signs from the Universe so of course them being there must be meant to be! I’m not as good as you at restricting myself, I have very poor self-control, but as you say reading too many too fast can lead to disappointment when you start being able to see the twists coming. Especially in the crime genre. I find it very hard to leave a series unfinished though, I like the sense of completeness.

      And no, I don’t think I could do that, once I have it I generally have to read it right away!!

  2. I would buy them if I were you, you might regret it later if you go back and they’re not there anymore.I always try and avoid reading too many books in a series or by the same author in a row so that I don’t get bored with the style.

    • You’re right, I went back and they’d moved and I was very nearly disappointed! I’ve done that to myself so many times, got hooked on one book and then read so many by that author that I don’t like them anymore but somehow I keep falling into the same trap!

      • I’m glad you got them in the ed though, and if you decide that you don’t like them all that much after all, you can always pass them to someone else.

  3. I saw Rivers of London in my favourite charity bookshop at the weekend. I nearly bought it but as I’d already picked up several books to buy I left it. Then I saw Ben Aaronvitch interviewed on BBC Breakfast this morning & decided I’d made a mistake. I went back to get the book & it had gone. So my advice is buybuybuy!

    • I can definitely recommend it if you stumble across it again! It is hard sometimes when you’ve already got an armful but charity shops seem to move their stock incredibly quickly so I usually leave with a groaning carrier bag of ‘just in case’.

  4. Reblogged this on Books on the Tube and commented:

    Update!
    After some unanimous advice from you, my lovely readers, I decided to go back and get the next book in the series and see how it goes. So far it’s going great (I’ve ditched the one I started this morning) so it’s quite likely I’ll be back there again tomorrow! I did have a panic though as they weren’t in the fiction section where I found the first one last week but luckily they’d only been moved as far as the detective section πŸ™‚

  5. Pingback: Read all about it! Books for London’s Friday round up for 9 August | Books for London

  6. Get them, I really enjoy the series! I’ve reviewed each book in the series on my blog too if that helps.

  7. Sure thing – http://adventuresofalondonkiwi.blogspot.co.uk/ I’ve read your reviews of the 1st & 2nd book though, and mine don’t hold a candle!

    • I’m glad you liked my review and it was really funny to see how much we agree in what we think of them!

      I love your blog by the way, you have some really beautiful photographs and some very interesting posts πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

