International Harry Potter covers

A bit of a random post this one. First I’d like to mention the changing colour of the background to my blog. You may have noticed that it’s no longer a pinkish-purple and is more of a pale yellow. This is because I looked at my homepage the other day and realised what it is that’s always made me feel uncomfortable about that colour. It reminds me of fruit-flavoured yoghurt. For reference, I don’t like fruit-flavoured yoghurt, I’m a bit of a purist about my fermented milk products. So I thought I’d go for a classy, grown-up kind of thing. If anyone’s got any thoughts please do let me know 🙂

Now to what actually inspired this post; this post on Buzzfeed which I discovered during my lunch break: International HP covers. It shows images of the Harry Potter covers used in 8 countries around the world (with the added bonus of both adult and child British covers) which I thought was fascinating. 

Aaages ago I wrote a post about my thoughts on the French version of HP & The Prisoner of Azkaban and several of the comments mentioned how nice it was to see different covers so I thought it was my responsibility to share this awesome post!

Harry Potter et le Prisonnier d'Azkaban vs Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

Harry Potter et le Prisonnier d’Azkaban vs Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

Personally I prefer the British ones but that’s possibly got something to do with the fact that I grew up with them and all my associations are with those pictures. I also really like the Spanish and American ones and the Dutch ones are stunning. The French ones are a bit too cartoony for my taste except number 7 which is suitably moody. And I’m not sure I’d read the Danish ones, they look a bit too serious and like they’d be lengthy, hard to read legends than kids books.

But what is with the German Harry?! That face he’s pulling makes him look like a sarcastic librarian and the way he leans in from one corner is just odd. I’m afraid he makes me laugh more than anything else.

What are your thoughts on these covers? Are there any you especially like/dislike?

7 responses to “International Harry Potter covers

  1. The Dutch ones really are stunning. I like them both cause the designers de the desicion to never show his face. It’sall very mysterious and cool :p

  2. I prefer the British ones too. They were the first ones I saw when I picked the books up, so they would always be my fav.

  3. I enjoy the new flouro covers, I saw them when I was at the Wizarding World of Harry Potter but I’ve not seen them since then, but I have to agree with Emma, the Dutch ones are pretty! (I like the new blog layout by the way :))

    • Are those the bright ones? I saw them in a shop the other day and I think they’re awful! I really liked the adult ones before the redesign (although naturally my collection are the kid’s versions), they were much more grown-up which was presumably the point.

      Thanks, I’m glad you like it!

Leave a Reply

