Day 1: Bout of Books

And we’re off, my first read-a-thon is under way! I’m not actually sure how much reading I’ll be able to get done as this week has turned out to be a relatively busy one socially speaking and a few days ago my housemate brought home a ridiculous puzzle which seems to have the ability to steal entire hours of my life. So staying away from the puzzle and finding time to read around social engagements are my two main challenges for the week.

But aside from those challenges, the main reasons I’m doing this are two-fold:

1. My blog fell victim to the torment of thesis writing over the last year and a bit so I’m hoping that writing something every day will get me back in the habit and remind me how much I love vomiting my thoughts onto a virtual page and give me back the blogging spark.

2. Much as I hate to admit it I’m in a bit of a book-haze at the moment. I can’t seem to find anything I really enjoy and instead I’m forcing myself to plough on through however much I’m not really enjoying it. With any luck  a good bit of book chat will help me find that missing je ne sais quoi and really enjoy reading again.

Which brings me rather seamlessly to today’s challenge: a bookish survey!

Question 1: How do you organise your bookshelves? I really, really wish I could answer this; there’s a part of me that is screaming out for organising by theme and alphabetically but alas they’re just shoved on there any which way. One day I’ll get round to doing it properly. One day…

Question 2: What is one of your favourite books that’s not in one of your favourite genres? This is hard because I don’t really do genres – there are books I like and books I don’t. But I’m going to go for Katherine by Anya Seton which has to be the only time I’ve really enjoyed a historical novel.

Question 3: What is the last 5 star book you read? According to Goodreads the last book I gave 5 stars was Birdsong by Sebastian Faulks which seems fair as it was epic and gave me a new interest in WWI to the extent that I’m now reading a non-fiction book about the war.

Question 4: What book are you most excited to read during the read-a-thon? Currently my only goal is to finish Alias Grace by Margaret Atwood which I have been reading for an age. I’m pretty excited about that.

Question 5: What book do you recommend the most? I am the Messenger, Markus Zusak. This book is all kinds of perfect.

That’s all for today folks!

4 responses to “Day 1: Bout of Books

  1. The start of the year was like that for me – all books I read were disappointing but this month seems to have turned it around. I’ve really enjoyed the last few ones. Hope you find something great this week ! 🙂 All the best !

  2. Jenna @LittleBirdReads

    Yay! Welcome to your first readathon! Great choice for a first one too, since this is a week long and very low pressure. You’ll build up a huge TBR to cure your book haze, I’m sure. I am going to recommend The Art of Racing in the Rain (just finished it last night, and it was ahhh-mazing!).
    Have fun!!1

Leave a Reply

