Day 5: Bout of Books

I wasn’t sure I’d have an entry for Thursday as I was supposed to be playing in a softball match but alas the beautiful May weather we’d been having all week took a sudden change for the rainier and the match was cancelled.

So instead I headed home to set up shop with 100 Days to Victory in place of Alias Grace. While 100 Days is officially my tube book, it had got to a point where I was too close to the end to stop (plus I accidentally read a few pages ahead and had to know how what I read came about). And a couple of hours later….BOOK COMPLETED.

It was a very bittersweet ending, 100 Days is a factual account of 100 keys days in the First World War and it was a fascinating though emotional read. I highly recommend it to anyone interested in finding out more about WWI, especially those who are less interested in detailed military descriptions but want to get an overview of the war with an emphasis on real human stories.

100 Days to Victory on a grey day

100 Days to Victory on a grey day

Page count:

100 Days to Victory: 84

2 responses to “Day 5: Bout of Books

  1. Sounds like an interesting book! I’m a big fan of war books, so I might have to add this one to my TBR list! Hope your enjoying your boutofbooks!

    • It was really good, the author chose 100 key days throughout WWI and focused on lots of different aspects. I’m really enjoying it, I’m going to be quite sad on Monday!

Leave a Reply

